How to Delete Your Facebook Account Permanently?

Did you ever think about deleting your account on the most popular social media platform, Facebook? There could be any reason behind the thought. It might be a security threat, or you want to cut down on your social media time. Whatever your reason, you shall know that deleting it is a straightforward task.

How to Delete Your Facebook Account Permanently

It can be done in two ways- one that’s a reversible thing, as you might just have a change of mind, and the other method is a permanent thing for all those of you who are very sure of your decision to quit Facebook.

How to Delete Facebook Account Permanently (Step by Step Guide)

As mentioned, this method shall be opted only by those who are confident that they would never want to return to Facebook and do not mind the idea of beginning from scratch, just if they have a change of mind.

Once the account is deleted, Facebook permanently removes it, and as said by Facebook itself, the process of deletion takes almost a month, but a few copies might stay in backup copies and logs up to 90 days.

To delete the account, one can go to www.facebook.com/deactivate_delete_account on the computer system and then select ‘Delete Account.’

Steps to Delete Facebook account on the phone:

  • Open the Facebook application.
    open Facebook app
  • Click on the three bars in the lower right corner.
  • Go to Settings and Privacy and click on Settings.
    settings on facebook app
  • Next, scroll down to the ‘Your Facebook Information’ section and click on the ‘Account Ownership and Control’ option.
  • Now select the ‘Deactivation and Deletion’ and ‘Delete Account.’
    delete facebook account
  • Click on ‘continue to account deletion.’

The point to be kept in mind is that you can only delete what you have in your account. Posts or messages you have sent to others would remain on Facebook, even after your account is deleted.

Before deleting, download your data from your account!

It is recommended that before permanently deleting your account, you shall download a copy of all your data available on your account.

To do that, follow the following steps on your computer:

  • On the system, click on the down arrow.
  • Go to Settings and Privacy and get into the Your Facebook Information
    Download Your Facebook Information
  • From there, you need to visit the “Access Your Information.”
  • Click on ‘Download Your Information
    access your information on facebook

For mobile phones:

  • Firstly click on the triple lines in the down right corner.
  • Then scroll down and go to ‘Settings and Privacy’ and choose ‘Settings.’
  • Go to Your ‘Facebook Information’ and ‘Download Your Information.

Even when you decide to delete your Facebook account, you can still download your data. It is not required to keep so much data on Facebook, and secondly, it is an eye-opener to see how much information you must have shared.

To get an idea of how much is there on your data file, select the ‘Activity Log.’ If you decide to download your archive, you should store it safely somewhere.

Alternative Way to Deleting the Facebook Account:

If your main aim is to take a break from your social media, an alternative to delete the account is deactivating the account. This is an arrangement in which the account is put on hold, and also, the timeline gets hidden.

Anytime you want to get back to the site, you can, and Facebook will delete no information. Once you decide to activate the account, everything is like before. All the friends, likes, posts, and other activities remain in the account.

But unlike deleting the account, deactivation won’t remove you from your friends’ list. To try Deactivation, all you need to do is click on www.facebook.com/deactivate_delete_account on your computer and then click on the ‘Deactivation Account.’

Steps to be followed on the phone:

  • Click on the triple lines in the down right corner.
  • Get down to ‘Settings and Privacy’ and go to settings.
  • Next, go to the Facebook Information column and chose ‘Account Ownership.’
  • Click on the Deactivation and Deletion option.

Get into the deactivation mode and click on continue to deactivate.

Frequently Asked Questions:


Can I completely erase my account from Facebook?

Yes, you can by just clicking on the deleting option from the privacy settings. It will erase all your information from Facebook, including all you have shared from your account. But it shall not delete the messages already shared by you with others.


Within how many days will my account get deleted from Facebook?

The deletion period is one month. So it will take up to 30 days to completely delete your account from Facebook.


I just need a break from social media. Shall I delete my account permanently?

You can opt for the deactivation mode instead and resume Facebook whenever you feel like it.


You May Also Like:

Conclusion

When you feel that social media has become a threat to your personal information or you are bored and tired of spending so much time on the internet posting and liking messages, and you don’t find it worth it, then deleting your Facebook account is undoubtedly a method which will do the needful. But if the aim is to just take a break from the social media, in that case, the deactivation method shall opt over a complete deletion of the account.

Leave a Reply