How to Make A Private Story on Snapchat (Step-By-Step)

Snapchat is one of the most popular social media platforms to share bits and pieces of your life with everyone globally. However, there are some stories that you want to keep private from certain people. 

Previously, you could hide people to view your stories or remove them from your friend list if you wanted to hide stories. However, with their new feature of ‘Private story,’ you can create a private story that will last for 24 hours. 

Private Story on Snapchat

The best part about Snapchat private stories is that you can customize the list of friends you want to show and easily remove people you no longer wish to show your private stories. 

If you are confused about how to make a private story on Snapchat, we have got your back! As you read this article ahead, we will guide you step-by-step on how you can make a private story and delete the story (in case) without any trouble. 

How to make a private story on Snapchat:

Creating a private story is as easy as making a custom story; it just has a few extra steps. 

Step 1: Like every story, click on the arrow to send the story ahead.

Click On The Arrow

Step 2: Click on the “+ private story” option in the right corner of the webpage. 

Click On The + Private Story

Step 3: Select all the people you want to view the story and click on the “create story.”

Click On Create Story

Step 4: You will get a choice to name your private story, choose a name and click on the ‘save’ option.

Click on save option

Step 5: Click on the private story option and hit the send button.

Send Your Private Story

For the ones who will view the story, the Android user will be able to see both your stories separately. But the iPhone users will get to view all the stories altogether. 

How To Remove Or Delete Snapchat Private Story: 

Deleting the private story is also equally comfortable. If you want to delete a particular private story, follow the steps below:

Step 1: Click on the story and open it.

Step 2: Click on the three dots option on the top right corner of the page.

Click On Three Dots

Step 3: Click on the delete story option and confirm.

Click On Delete Option

If you want to delete the entire private story: 

Step 1: Open your profile page of the account. 

Step 2: Click on the three dots on the private story bar’s right side.

Click on 3 dots

Step 3: Select the delete story option and click confirm. 

Delete Your Story

Your story is not deleted. You can easily add or delete the stories whenever you want by the method mentioned above. 

Frequently Asked Questions


What is a private story on Snapchat?

A private story on Snapchat is a feature where you can choose the only people who you would want to view the story to maintain your privacy. 


Is a private story different from a custom story?

Yes, private stories are different from custom stories. The people you choose in a custom story can also add their stories, whereas you can’t in private stories. 


Who can see my private story on Snapchat?

The people you choose from your friend list can only view your story. You can even choose just one person; it’s totally up to you. 


Why can’t I make a private story on Snapchat?

To make a private story on Snapchat, you need to have the updated version of Snapchat. If you have problems even after having the latest version, you can delete it and reinstall it. Snapchat might be having some technical glitches. 


You May Also Like:

Final Thoughts

Snapchat has never disappointed us with any of its features. The launch of this new feature has made us love the app more. Now we don’t have to unfriend people to keep our personal life private. 

Creating a personal story doesn’t take much time, especially when you follow the steps mentioned above. Go ahead and upload your private stories on Snapchat with the easiest method above right away! 

We hope you found our article on how to make a private Snapchat story helpful. Let us know your favorite Snapchat feature in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply